Home > Injury > Out of Commission with a Sports Hernia

Out of Commission with a Sports Hernia

A little over a month ago my lower abdominal muscles were starting to hurt during and after my core workouts, as well as during running and hockey. I think it started when my buddy and I incorporated some crazy core exercises at the gym. The stress demands on your lower core and hip muscles from goaltending further aggravated the injury and over time is was becoming worse, so I decided to go to the doctor.

Based on the initial examination the doctor believed the injury to be some type of hernia, more specifically an inguinal canal hernia. I was sent for an ultrasound and thankfully they found no evidence of a hernia, but they determined that my injury was actually a sports hernia. From the research that I did on a sports hernia it is very common among soccer and hockey players because of the quick cuts and lateral moves we make.

Up until a few years ago “sports hernia” was not a term in the medical world. Players were misdiagnosed with chronic groin pain and other types of injuries that were similar to a sports hernia. In the NFL, Donovan McNabb and in the NHL, Rick DiPietro both suffered a sports hernia injury that required surgery. As of now I thankfully do not need further testing or surgery. However, if my symptoms do not improve with the help of physical therapy and rest, I might have to go down that same path.

Over the past few weeks I have been able to increase the weight I use at the gym as well as get on a stationary bike and elliptical machine. Running still hurts too much, even if I do a light jog. I picked up a pair of Under Armour CoreShorts over the weekend and they do help, but not enough to allow me to run. I have also found that certain stretches that involve a lunge are too painful to execute.

Today was my first physical therapy session and after an examination the therapist agreed with the diagnosis. He provided me with some muscle massaging and icing tips to do each day. I am allowed to do anything that does not cause pain, so I am going to see how swimming goes and test out the Arc Trainer at the gym. Being able to still exercise in some capacity is great news, but the not so great news is that the therapist estimates I probably will not be running till at least July and not playing hockey again till at least September.

To not lose out too much on hockey I am going to try to do every dry-land exercise and training I can do such as stick handling and juggling. By the time I get back on the rink it should not take me too long to get back to 100%. Just have to be patient.

“If you have confidence you have patience. Confidence, that is everything.” ~ Ilie Nastase

  1. Aaron Bert
    April 21, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Good article. I had hernia two years back. After the surgery they told me to take rest for two months. I followed after surgery hernia information and within two months i was able to recover back to my normal life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

