Home > Uncategorized > Back From a Two Week Break

Back From a Two Week Break

Well I was hoping that I wouldn’t make a post like this for a while, but now is as good a time as any. The schedule for the current season has a three week gap in it with our next game not happening till next Friday. Late this afternoon I got a phone call from a rink I sub-in for sometimes asking if I could make it for the 8pm game. Wanting to shake the rust off I agreed to rush down there and play.

I didn’t get a chance to stretch or warm-up too much but I stopped just about all of the shots I faced in the pre-game practice. That is where the fun stopped. The game started off like any other game until my defense botched the setup play behind the net and two guys swarmed the crease and scored. The rest of the first period played out the same way. The setups that were made kept being botched and I was left out to dry.

Believe me, I was not innocent in this game. There were two easy shots that I should have stopped but was off angle and I didn’t close my elbows to my side quick enough. By the end of the first period we were down 6-1. In between periods I tried to focus on the saves I did make and not the ones I had no chance on. I think it helped because my play during the next two periods wasn’t too shabby.

The second period went more smoothly and the defense paid more attention to their setups and passes that they were making. The other team had the puck near the right face-off dot, took a bad angle shot, I made the save and it bounced about two feet in front of me. My defenseman tried to clear the puck and bounced it off of the center who passed it over to his wing and I tried to make a diving save across but the puck went in three inches above my stick. The second period ended with the score at 7-2.

Like the second period, the third period was pretty uneventful except for a slot pass my defenseman made right to another player for the final goal of the game. When it was all said and done, the score was 8-2 and I was feeling pretty miserable. I don’t want to make excuses because of not playing for two weeks or because I didn’t get in a good warm-up. It was just really disappointing that I gave up a few goals to make the situation worse, even though the majority of goals were mistakes from the team I played for.

The lesson here is to focus on what is in my control and that is how I choose to make a save. After the game I stayed on the rink and practiced a ton of different butterfly saves, keeping my angles, and even helped the next team coming on practice. I plan on going down to open skate on Friday and then my next game is the following Friday.

“Confidence is the most important single factor in this game, and no matter how great your natural talent, there is only one way to obtain and sustain it: work.” ~ Jack Nicklaus

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

